Drug Crimes in New Jersey and Pennsylvania: What is Drug Possession?
Pennsylvania drug possession penalties
Under the Pennsylvania drug possession statute, the penalties for marijuana possession include a misdemeanor charge, a $500 fine and 30 days in jail for 30g or less. For 30g or more, the charge is still a misdemeanor, but you could face a year in prison and a $5,000 fine.
The penalties for possession of narcotics include one year in jail and a $5,000 fine for your first offense. For subsequent offenses, prison time and fines increase significantly.
The charge of possession of a CDS does not mean that the substance was in your hands, your pockets, backpack or purse. You can be charged with constructive possession if the drug is found near you or in a place over which you have control, such as your home or your car.
Possession of drug paraphernalia such as bongs, pipes, etc., whether or not you have any drugs in your possession, carry penalties of up to a year in prison and a $2,500 fine if it is a first offense.
If you have been charged with a drug crime it does not mean that you will be convicted. Schedule a consultation with an experienced drug crimes lawyer who will listen to you and then discuss the options for building a strong defense against the drug possession charges. Attorney David Jay Glassman represents clients who are facing state or federal drug or other criminal charges.