What Does Pennsylvania Law Say About Possession and Distribution of Marijuana?
There are both state and federal laws regulating the possession, sale and manufacture of marijuana. It is currently a Schedule I drug in Pennsylvania, and thus the law considers it to have a high potential for abuse and no recognized medical value.
Below is a general overview of how the law treats certain marijuana-related crimes in Pennsylvania.
Possession of marijuana
The knowing or intentional possession of marijuana, in any amount, is a crime in Pennsylvania. Possession of amounts up to 30 grams carries a fine of $500 and/or 30 days in jail. Conviction for possession of more than 30 grams is punishable by up to $5,000 in fines and/or one year in prison.
Manufacture and distribution of marijuana
Distributing or manufacturing marijuana, or possession of the drug with intention to distribute, is illegal in Pennsylvania. For these crimes, the penalties vary depending on the amount of marijuana distributed or made — and whether it was sold or given away.
A person who gives away up to 30 grams for free faces a fine of up to $500 and/or up to 30 days in jail. Selling up to 1,000 pounds of marijuana is punishable by fines between $5,000 and $25,000 and/or between one and three years of incarceration. Sales of more than 1,000 pounds of marijuana may come with fines of up to $100,000 and/or 10 years in prison.
Possession of drug paraphernalia
It’s also illegal in Pennsylvania to sell, advertise or manufacture drug paraphernalia. Examples of paraphernalia include any items used in the growing, storage, use, processing or harvesting of marijuana. Penalties for possession of drug paraphernalia include fines of up to $2,500 and/or up to one year in prison.
To learn more about marijuana laws in Pennsylvania and your legal options if you’ve been accused of a drug crime, speak with a trusted Philadelphia criminal defense attorney at The Law Offices of David Jay Glassman. You can reach us online or call 215-563-7100.