The Consequences of Driving Without Insurance in New Jersey
The state of New Jersey requires all registered motor vehicles to have liability, personal injury protection and uninsured motorist insurance coverage. Your insurance company will issue an insurance card with all of the pertinent policy information on it. You are required to keep your current insurance card in your vehicle so that you can present it if you are stopped by the police for a traffic violation, get your vehicle inspected or if you are involved in an accident.
If you are driving a vehicle that is not insured, you could face mandatory penalties, which include a fine ranging from $300 to a maximum of $1,000. You could lose your license for a year and be required to do community service. There are also court fees and an annual insurance surcharge of $250, which you must pay to the DMV for three years for a first offense.
Penalties for a second offense of driving are tougher than for a first DUI offense. You could face the following:
- $5,000 fine
- 14 days in jail
- 30 days of community service
- License suspension for two years from the date of the conviction
- Court fees
You will also be assessed nine points on your insurance, which will raise your rates significantly once your license is reinstated. The DMV insurance surcharge for a second offense is $750. The DMV can choose to not reinstate your license once you become eligible again.
If you find yourself facing a first or a second offense of driving without insurance, you might consider contacting an experienced traffic violations attorney who will help ensure the most favorable outcome possible given the facts of your case.
Defenses against uninsured motorist charges
There are several different defenses that a skilled attorney might use to prevent their client from being convicted of driving without insurance, such as:
- The driver did not own the vehicle.
- The insurance company did not comply with NJ laws with regard to notification about canceling or not renewing the policy.
- The car was not registered in New Jersey.
If you are unable to provide proof of insurance when you get pulled over for a traffic stop, the officer may issue you a ticket and you will have to appear in court at a hearing. If you can produce evidence that you had insurance at the time of the traffic stop, but you did not have your insurance card in your vehicle, the penalties may be greatly reduced to simply paying a fine.
A conviction of driving without insurance can cost you your job, steep fines and jail time. Work with an experienced traffic violation attorney who will protect your freedom and your future. Call the Law Offices of David Jay Glassman in New Jersey at or fill out our contact form now.